This little light of mine, I’m gonna let it shine … Everywhere I go, I’m gonna let it shine…

You’re here to be light, bringing out the God-colors in the world. God is not a secret to be kept. We’re going public with this, as public as a city on a hill. If I make you light-bearers, you don’t think I’m going to hide you under a bucket, do you? I’m putting you on a light stand. Now that I’ve put you there on a hilltop, on a light stand—shine! Keep open house; be generous with your lives. By opening up to others, you’ll prompt people to open up with God, this generous Father in heaven. Matthew 5:14-16

Now that I am living “after cancer,” I am learning that I still need to rely and depend on God every single day. During treatment, I was very aware of my dependence. I was aware of God’s strength and grace in every breath, every step, every good day, and every bad day.

I see clearly how Satan wants me to live overwhelmed – overwhelmed with worry about the cancer returning, regrets from the things I missed while in treatment, worry for the “what-ifs” of the future. He certainly doesn’t want me to live a brave life! And too often I find myself caught up in his subtle games. I succumb to the worries, the regrets, the what-ifs, especially on days when I struggle physically (yes, the physical struggles of cancer treatments continue even after the treatments end). Have you noticed how it’s the days that you are already feeling a little off that Satan seems to launch his greatest attacks? That’s because he’s always watching, waiting until we are most vulnerable.

But through God’s grace, we don’t have to live in a place of defeat! Praise the Lord, He has given us all we need in the life to come, but also in this life! We don’t have to live overwhelmed by the Enemy’s lies. We can live victorious lives, all for the glory of God.

If you are God’s child, He has given you a light to shine in this dark world. Like the verses above, God is painting this world with our lights, each individual light working together to make a grand masterpiece. If you are living overwhelmed by the lies and accusations of Satan today, can I send you a little piece of encouragement? Living overwhelmed is not the life you were created for! You were created, specially designed, to be brave!

Father, I pray for myself and for those who are reading this. Give us a tangible awareness today of how we are created to shine our lights for You. If we are overwhelmed, lift us up. Give us the strength and courage to shine our lights bravely for You.

