So many others have tried their hand at putting together a story of the wonderful harvest of Scripture and history that took place among us, using reports handed down by the original eyewitnesses who served this Word with their very lives. Since I have investigated all the reports in close detail, starting from the story’s beginning, I decided to write it all out for you, most honorable Theophilus, so you can know beyond the shadow of a doubt the reliability of what you were taught. Luke 1:1-4

Like the author Luke and Theophilus, his audience, let’s take some time this Christmas to remember that this is not just a nice story. It is a TRUE and RELIABLE story, the story of our redemption and salvation. The story of how a perfect God rescued an imperfect people. We are supporting characters in the story, but it is HIS story – the story of God become man, sent to dwell with us.

Christmas is a season of mystery, of excitement of what is to come. It comes at the end of our calendar year, but what it signals is just the beginning of the glory of Christ. One of my favorite Christmas albums of all time is Carolyn Arends’ An Irrational Season. She beautifully conveys the wonder of the season. Here’s a little bit of the reason I love it:

This is an irrational season. We use our wonder, our imagination, to believe – to trust, have faith – that an infinite God came to live among us as a tiny baby. It is not reasonable. It doesn’t make sense. And yet God, who is full of surprises, did just that. Sit is awe of this reality. Soak it in. Believe it is true.

Recipes

I love to bake all year, but especially during the holiday season. Quick breads are some of my favorite gifts to make for others, because they are just what the name implies – quick. No yeast or kneading involved. If you can use a mixer, you can make them. Here are a few of my favorites:

Zucchini Bread

Strawberry Muffins

Cranberry Orange Bread

Traditions

carolersSometime in 2003, Chris and I went to the Wakefield-Scearce Gallery in Shelbyville, Kentucky, and while wandering through rooms filled with beautiful antiques and hand-crafted silver, I found a room filled with carolers – specifically Byers’ Choice Carolers – and I fell in love with the little hand-carved faces. For each of the last 12 Christmases, I have added one new caroler to my collection. The past two years, Henry has gotten in on the fun and picked out some animals to go with our collection. We have fun walking in the store and picking out one we think would like to join our mantel.

I hope you will join me each Wednesday for the month of December as we celebration the season with music, food, and traditions. I also hope you’ll join in the fun and share some of your own favorite things! You can also find me on Instagram as we #celebratetheseason!

