I’m sorry that I’ve been absent for the past month! The beginning of the year has slammed our schedule hard, and I feel like I am just now beginning to crawl out of the hole of lagging behind. Blogging had to get dropped to the side for a few weeks so I could get a handle on everything else.

If you read along with our journey in 2015, you know that God very specifically gave me a word for the year, brave. I had quite the experience with that word, never knowing that God was asking me to be brave as we lived through a year of cancer.

So, it was with some anxiety that I asked God for another word this year, but I believe that He has given me one – celebrate!

This is the year that God is asking me to learn to celebrate again. We lived with a lot of fear and anxiety last year, and we learned so much about God’s plan in suffering. And now, I believe that God is inviting me to relearn how to celebrate life – life in Him, life with my family, life in my community, life filled with joy – regardless of what may come in the future.

It would be so easy to continue to live in fear, waiting for the other shoe to drop, but God gives us hope in His Word:

I sought the Lord, and he answered me; he delivered me from all my fears. Those who look to him are radiant; their faces are never covered with shame. This poor man called, and the Lord heard him; he saved him out of all his troubles. The angel of the Lord encamps around those who fear him, and he delivers them. Taste and see that the Lord is good; blessed is the one who takes refuge in him. Psalm 34:4-8

God invites us to enjoy Him with all our senses, to “taste and see that the Lord is good.” That’s my goal this year, to seek out the beauty that God has created, to look every day for His imprints in my life.

Just like last year, I don’t know where God will take my journey to celebrate, but I am eager to get going and find out!

 

