We have jumped back into life full-force after the holidays, which feels both good and bad, depending on the day and how well I am handling things. The effects of chemo don’t end when the treatment does, and I still struggle with multitasking and managing our busy life. Some days I think I’m doing pretty well, and the next day I can wake up and not know how to manage anything about my schedule and to-do list.

It is frustrating, but I am learning it is what it is. I can fight against it (and I do), but I also have to learn to manage it. When I am having a bad day, I just have to embrace it for what it is and change my plans.

There’s a thing going around the Internet lately – writers talking about “things that are saving my life.” I’m having trouble getting on that particular band wagon because, truthfully, chemo saved my life, not a particular shade of lipstick or the latest latte at Starbucks. (Don’t email me – I understand that most of these bloggers don’t mean that these things are literally saving their lives. It’s just where I am right now. I can’t find it in me to be that flippant.)

That said, I do have some things I am enjoying right now, and that provide some sanity on the days that I need it.

  1. Podcasts. I have to work to fit listening to podcasts into my schedule, since I don’t have a commute. However, the treadmill and time spent cleaning goes a whole lot faster listening to Serial, Around the Table, and What Should I Read Next?
  2. She Reads Truth Lent Study. I love the She Reads Truth studies. She Reads Truth is an app for your phone or tablet that provides a daily Bible reading and devotion. The Lent study just started, so if you are looking for a good Bible reading plan, check it out.
  3. The final season of Downton Abbey, and the new season of Doc Martin. We love British TV. If you don’t, you should.

How are you spending the cold, dreary days of February? How do you manage your crazy days?

