We are continuing our year to celebrate (my word for the year, which you can read about here) with Henry’s kindergarten graduation this week. I know – kindergarten graduation. We graduate everything anymore, but nevertheless, we will be there, and as his teacher has told him, some moms will cry. (When asked if his will, he gave an emphatic yes.)

We are blessed with the sweetest little class of kids. They will tell you they want to stay in kindergarten (they love their wonderful teacher to bits, and they have had a great year), but they are so ready for first grade. They know their stuff, and it is time to move on.

We all reach those places in life – we have learned what we need to, we have grown, and now it’s time to pack up the classroom and move on. Unfortunately, we don’t always do so gracefully. I’ve reflected on this often since turning 40. I am no longer technically a “young adult.” I am officially in my middle years. And while that absolutely does not mean putting on the mom jeans, forgetting to color my hair, and settling into old age, I think it does mean embracing this stage of life, not trying to hang on to what has passed, and allowing myself to move gracefully forward.

Friday night, twenty of the sweetest little kids will perform “The Little Red Hen,” don blue caps and gowns, and revel in the excitement of their accomplishments. They will head into summer break full of excitement for the future. What if we all looked at milestones in life through those same eyes? What if we refused to mourn what is over but looked with excitement at what is to come? I think we would find ourselves less bitter, less stressed, and with more zest for what our futures can be.

Whether we are six or 40, the future is as bright as we imagine it.

