Last week, we attended the annual meeting of our church’s denomination. It was a great three days of meeting new people, learning from great teachers, and remembering why we believe that the gospel and all its implications are so important.

One of the highlights for me was seeing my friend Amy serve as the first female assistant parliamentarian for our denomination. She is one of the most intelligent, gracious, and godly people I know, and I was thrilled to see others recognize what I have known for years. I loved celebrating her accomplishment with her.

This week, our church is holding Vacation Bible School. We started the week with a record number of kids, which means that around 1 pm every day I am ready for a nap and a second cup of coffee! A friend whose children are attending our VBS this week asked me on Monday, “How do you all pull this off every year? How do you make this work?”

I have one answer for that – it takes every single person who volunteers to make VBS work. Not only that, it takes lots of people using their unique gifts and talents well to pull together and make VBS happen.

My friend Amy and our Vacation Bible School have reminded me of an important truth – we need each other and the gifts and talents that we all bring to the table. I have unique giftings, and so do you. We need to allow one another to serve, and we need to celebrate when someone else does something well.

Whether in our churches, our offices, or our neighborhoods, we need not begrudge someone of their talents and their opportunities, but we should celebrate with them. By making space for everyone to use their gifts, we all serve more effectively.

Can I challenge you today to find a way to celebrate what someone else is doing well? Rather than allowing jealousy to keep you from acknowledging the talents and opportunities of someone else, could you take steps to recognize and affirm them?

