School has been in almost two weeks in these parts. We are slowly beginning to find our rhythm, although I wouldn’t say we’re quite there yet. I still don’t have a great morning routine for myself. In particular, regular exercise is not so much happening. I’m counting on time, a little trial and error, and some planning to get us where we need to be.

I entered yet a different stage of life with this school year. I now have a child who stays at school all day, but I have a young puppy at home who needs caring for (i.e., taken outside) at regular intervals.

I am volunteering more time at school. I backed away from some other commitments so that I can put my energy into my family. I am slowing down a little bit, prioritizing differently, and changing the way I think about my time.

I really feel like God is telling me to “stay in my own lane” in this season. I believe that He has work He has designed for me to do, but it’s not going to look like it has in the past. It’s not even going to look like what He has given my friends to do.

I am reminded of the parable of the talents in Matthew 25. The master gave one servant five talents, one three talents, and one servant only one talent. They were all given different amounts, and they all behaved differently. The first two servants were considered faithful because they used their talents wisely, and the third servant was unfaithful because He did not.

But when we look at the first two servants, they didn’t do the same things. They used their best abilities and the time they were given, and they did what they could. And for that, they were rewarded.

I’ve not been given the same gifts and abilities as you, and certainly not in the same measure. God has given to each of us differently, as He sees fit. But it doesn’t really matter. What matters is that I stay in my lane – that I use what He has given me to the best of my ability, for the time that He gives me to work.

My life and service will look different from yours, and we can thank and praise God for His infinite wisdom to make us all unique. What matters is that we focus in on what He is asking us to do today, and serve Him with gratitude.

So if you are looking for me, I’ll be over here in my own lane. It’s the best place to be.

