With fall break in our parts last week, I’ve had to try to process this year’s Hutchmoot in snippets, which is not the best way, but is sometimes necessary in real life. And which is also ironic considering that some of my major take-aways have to do with slowing down.

img_20161008_192644

Beth, Sally Clarkson, and Amy

 

As has been our tradition, my friend Amy and I met up at a hotel in Brentwood on Thursday afternoon. Spending time with Amy is absolutely one of the highlights of the weekend. She is Anne to my Diana, Lewis to my Tolkein. An absolute kindred spirit. We talked kids, ministry, politics, and life, and we enjoyed every minute. The time together passed far too quickly.

 

Over the weekend, we ate good food, listened to fabulous music, and heard inspiring speakers. I was reminded that God delights in our creativity, He delights in our art, and He delights in our enjoyment of the artistic process.

I live in a circle that values measurable productivity – numbers, goals, etc. – over intangibles like the creative process, and it refreshed my soul to step back and remember that while, yes, those things matter, they are not the only things that matter.

I am writing this in my backyard, puppy at my feet, a good cup of coffee in hand, watching leaves fall from the trees. God painted a beautiful world full of all sorts of colors. He made the seasons, not just to move us from point A to point B in time, but so that we might take pleasure in them, just as He does.

Our world is so fast-paced, I am afraid we miss these little delights. Hutchmoot reminded me that it is time to put the brakes on the machine, to slow down, to enjoy the passing seasons, to create, and to enjoy what others create. Life is not a competition, it is not a race to the finish line, and it is certainly not about who arrives first. God created the journey, and He filled it with joy.

I was also reminded that God created me to love music, literature, and beauty. Taking time to enjoy those things as He intended only deepens my relationship with Him, as I praise and magnify Him for what He has done, and what He creates through me.

Today, I am thankful for the reminder. I am thankful for the busyness of my life, but I am also thankful for the opportunity to see God through His artists.

