I’ve been writing posts in my head for the past month or so, but never actually found time to sit down and type them out.  Now that I finally have a few minutes to myself, I find that I don’t know where to begin.

Because this is the first week of the new year, most of my friends on Facebook and elsewhere are talking about resolutions.  Resolutions to lose weight, get out of debt, spend more time with family and friends, and even the evangelically-correct resolution to “make more of Jesus.”  While the idea of forming these resolutions may have its place, I wonder how many of us will actually have a strategic plan to back up these promises we make to ourselves on January 1.  I fear that most of us prefer to be vague about how we intend to keep these resolutions, because that makes it easier when we decide to break them – to skip the gym, to make the impulse purchase, to put the Bible back on the shelf without reading it.

And yet, even though Christmas is now past and the new year is in full swing, I find myself thinking back to the days of Advent – days of expectation, of waiting with hope for something new.  I don’t think that longing ends with Christmas.  The days of Christmas come only once a year, but each day we find ourselves with longings of one sort or another.  It is in these longings that I find myself learning to depend more and more on Jesus as my only hope.  We wait for many things – for a job, for a friend, for children, for recognition, for healing – but all of these things will fail us.  In our longings, only Jesus remains.  He is the only Unchangeable, Unmovable Rock.  He is what we are waiting for.